top of page
Surrounded by Eggs

Juliet E McKenna

Writer. Joined LPP in 2017.

Juliet E McKenna is a British fantasy author living in the Cotswolds, UK. Loving history, myth and other worlds since she first learned to read, she has written fifteen epic fantasy novels, from The Thief’s Gamble which began The Tales of Einarinn in 1999, to Defiant Peaksconcluding The Hadrumal Crisis trilogy.

Currently exploring new opportunities in digital publishing, she’s re-issued her backlist as ebooks in association with Wizard’s Tower Press as well as bringing out original fiction. Most recently, Shadow Histories of the River Kingdom offers readers a wholly new and different fantasy world to explore. In between novels, she writes diverse shorter fiction, ranging from stories for themed anthologies such as Alien Artifacts and Fight Like A Girl through a handful of tales for Doctor Who, Torchwood and Warhammer 40k to forays into dark fantasy and steampunk with  Challoner, Murray and Balfour: Monster Hunters at Law.

She reviews for web and print magazines as well as blogging on book trade issues, attending conventions and teaching creative writing.

Official Website


Shortlisted for the BSFA Awards 2017 for "The Myth of Meritocracy and the Reality of the Leaky Pipe and Other Obstacles in Science Fiction & Fantasy." in Gender identity and sexuality in Current Fantasy and Science Fiction.

British Fantasy Award Winner 2018 for Gender identity and sexuality in Current Fantasy and Science Fiction, Ed. by Francesca T Barbini.

bottom of page